Music
Leave a Comment

Give them good grades . . . and maybe some cake afterwards

Sometimes studying will always be boring, some subjects will just never be interesting (sorry macroeconomics). If only you had that motivation that drives those try-hards in your math class, those lucky nerds, they don’t know how good they have it. Or maybe your not even studying, maybe your writing an essay (or a blogpost), and suddenly the clouds open up and lightning strikes you, giving you that all foreboded writers block. “Dear God Why?” you yell at the heavens.

When it comes to studying I’m usually the first one volunteering to drive the struggle bus, I have the attention span of a goldfish, but only when I’m really not interested in the subject. However, I’ve found a solution, and it came to me like I believe most ideas come to people. I laid on the floor after an amazing dinner during final exams week, and played some music from a movie I had recently watched (if you must know, you nosy reader, the movie was Amelie), suddenly all of my questions were answered, as if with a few movie songs I had laid out all of my problems, and by channeling Einstein I solved them all calmly within the hour. Even the most boring of subjects can be conquered with the right soundtrack, preferably movie soundtracks. I’ve found movie soundtracks to be particularly helpful when it comes to studying, because they’re meant to be in the background, so they’re not as distracting as the usual song.

My overall soundtrack that I use for a general amount of studying is Marie Antoinette, why? Because if there ever was a category named Rock & Roll easy listening that would be where I’d put it. The Marie Antoinette soundtrack (I prefer the Deluxe edition), is the perfect mixture of classic Rock and Roll, instrumental orchestra, and indie artists.

Obviously I’m not expecting you to go out and buy the entire two disc collection, or buy all 26 songs on iTunes. I get all of my soundtrack songs from the local library, you would be surprised by all of the soundtrack collections that libraries carry.

Another soundtrack to specifically look at is The Great Gatsby, because it’s the equivalent of the Marie Antoinette soundtrack except with Hip-Hop (does anybody even say hip hop anymore).

A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

I’m not sure if you ever listened to music while studying before, but those websites that tell you Mozart is the best music to listen to while studying, is complete bull. This isn’t me bashing in all music by Mozart, trust me, I adore Wolfgang Amadeus with a burning passion, he’s truly amazing. However, orchestra music tends to be a bit of a drag when studying. My exceptions are albums like Pride and Prejudice I find them a little bit more uplifting, and it’s not something that youv’e already heard before, unless your a Jane Austen fanatic.

I also find this to be less sleep inducing, simply because it has a piano.

I also find this to be less sleep inducing, simply because it has a piano.

If your writing a paper and you need creative inspiration I suggest something like Cloud Atlas or August Rush, these movies main ideas are all about imagination and creating something new. Which means that the songs are chuck full of imaginative instrumentals.

A movie about reincarnation and karma through the past, present, and distant future. Starring Tom Hanks, who always delivers when it comes to an amazing role.

A movie about reincarnation and karma through the past, present, and distant future. Starring Tom Hanks, who always delivers when it comes to an amazing role.

But whatever you do, DO NOT listen to soundtracks like these:

"Do you wanna build a snowman?"

“Do you wanna build a snowman?”

"Do you hear the people sing?"

“Do you hear the people sing?”

 

 

 

You will only want to sing along, and you will never get any work done . . . ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What am I listening to right now? A Bronx Tale soundtrack. I was feeling a bit doo-wop deprived.

Leave a Comment

